just me

Roasted Garlic and Brie Soup and Chicken Salad Sandwiches

In Chicken, Sandwiches, Soups/Stews on January 8, 2010 at 6:58 pm

I can smell the soup through the picture. Omigod.

First, the soup. I first saw it on Framed, and I’ve been wanting to try it ever since. Well, I made it last night, and I must say, words fail me. Such velvety, savory, slightly smoky, buttery, goodness has never been found in one soup.

The recipe was great – the only thing I changed was that bit at the end about putting the garlic and a cup of the soup in the food processor and mixing it into the soup. I just whipped out my handy immersion blender and gave it a whirl right there in the pot – it was beautiful! I wanted to just keep eating it forever! I shouldn’t have made sandwiches too.

Now, about the sandwiches – first, let me say, I HATE mayo. Always have. Even the mere smell of it makes me want to blart. Can’t stand it. No. This being said, I need to do something with leftover chicken, and who wants to miss out on chicken salad fun? So I came up with my own. It was quite yummy, although perhaps a bit overpowered by the soup. But it’s so easy, and I had leftovers for lunch the next day.

Chicken Salad

Makes 4 big sandwiches

Ingredients:

1 pound chicken, cooked

1/2 sweet onion

2 ribs celery

4 sun-dried tomatoes

4 oz. cashews

3 tablespoons deli mustard

1 cup sour cream

salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, dill

Directions:

Put chicken in a large bowl, making sure no very large pieces remain (unless you have a very large mouth). You can chop it, or leave it chunky, like I did. If you chop it, you get more creaminess per bite, if you leave it chunky, it feels a bit heartier.

Finely chop all veggies and cashews, add to the chicken, and mix well.

Add the mustard and sour cream, and mix well.

Finally, add the salt, pepper, and spices. Be very careful about going crazy with the cayenne! I know it’s pretty, but it packs some heat, especially when combined with the spicy mustard! Give it all a good toss and stir.

I served mine on small hoagie roll with spring mix and sliced Roma tomatoes, but you can serve yours however you want. You can even eat it right out of the bowl if you live alone. I won’t tell.

Pretty AND delicious!

Of course, as with most of my recipes, you can substitute the heck out of this thing. Try different nuts and herbs and veggies. But remember the deli mustard has a very strong flavor, so you want to include things that can stand up to it without clashing. I hate it when flavors clash. Two delicious things come together to form an unholy alliance of blech. Sadness.

Okay, that’s all for today! Come back tomorrow, my darlings, and I will show you my improved version of Fish Tacos! And a new recipe from Dinners with Julie… stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

