just me

Fettuccine San Remo

In Pasta, Seafood, Uncategorized on May 24, 2010 at 4:30 pm
fettuccine san remo

This is an awesome end to a hot day.

So, my cousin got married in New Orleans awhile back, and I couldn’t make it because of stupid school. I could never go anywhere because of stupid school, and now that I’m out of stupid school, I can never go anywhere because of stupid work. I’ve had exactly one vacation since I was twelve, and that was two years ago.  Somehow I have managed to keep from slitting my wrists.

Anyway, my mom brought me back a souvenir – guess. A cookbook! Yeah! It’s great. It has recipes for shrimp creole, gumbo, beignets, oysters Rockafeller, and all the awesome dishes New Orleans is known for. When I came across the one for Fettuccine San Remo, I had to wipe my drool from the page, so I made it.

Unlike many of the recipes in this cookbook, this one does not have twelve thousand ingredients, it does not need to simmer for six days, nor does it involve buying sixteen pounds of crawfish. It does, however, involve shrimp, scallops, and garlic, which are some of my favorite things. It’s a light, refreshing dish, yet still flavorful. It’s also very quick and easy to make, which is great for when it’s too hot to stand over a stove.

Fettuccine San Remo

(from “Cookin’ in the Big Easy” from the Keepsake Cuisine Series)

Ingredients:

1 pound fettuccine, cooked and drained

1 pound shrimp, peeled, deveined

1/2 pound sea scallops

1 can chopped clams, drained

2 ounces fresh basil

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1/4 cup olive oil

2 cups fish stock or clam juice (I used chicken broth and it came out fine. My idiot grocery store has NOTHIN!)

parsley

pine nuts (I used pecans because pine nuts are $7/oz. around here)

Directions:

Saute garlic in oil for one minute.

Add the shrimp and scallops, and cook for about 4 minutes.

Add clams, herbs and stock, and maybe a bit of salt and pepper if you’d like.

Simmer over medium-low heat for 10 minutes.

Serve over pasta and top with nuts.

See how easy that was? Do your self a favor and serve it with a nice, crusty loaf of bread to sop up the broth. It is considered undignified to lick your plate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

