just me

Simon and Garfunkel Chicken

In Chicken, Uncategorized on January 6, 2010 at 6:25 pm

My Beautiful Bird - I promise to get better at photography!

For some reason, a raw, naked chicken cracks me up every time. So, in need of a bit of levity and comfort food, I made a roasted chicken for dinner last night, with creamy boiled potatoes and peas. But no gravy! We’re trying to be healthy here, for goodness sake.

I call my version “Simon and Garfunkel Chicken” because I make a rub from (sing it with me) parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme. Well, and some other stuff, but it doesn’t fit the song.

Roasting a bird is, to me, the easiest meal that yields the most impressive results. A little prep, a little rub, a couple of bastes, then everybody says “Ooooohhhh!” as the golden bird comes to the table. The possibilities for variation are endless, but this is my favorite way to do it because it’s cheap, and it uses spices I always have on hand. And as long as you don’t eat the skin, it’s pretty healthy!

Simon and Garfunkel Chicken

Ingredients:

1 whole chicken

1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted

2 cloves garlic

sea salt

black pepper

dried parsley

dried sage

dried rosemary

dried thyme

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Rinse chicken and pat dry. Holding the chicken with wings outstretched, dance the naked bird across the counter and lay tenderly on the rack of a roasting pan.

Brush the bird with the butter. Be sure you get into all the nooks and crannies, or else you’ll have soggy spots on the skin. Well, the bird will, not you. Or maybe you will. I don’t know you.

Crush the garlic onto the chicken. I like to position myself so that the garlic falls directly from the press onto the chicken.

Sprinkle the bird with salt, pepper, and spices, to taste. If you like thyme, go crazy with the thyme. I myself am a rosemary fiend.

Now, this is the fun part – massage the whole mess into the chicken. It will clump together and get all over your hands, but just rub it in nice and thoroughly. You’re going to roast the poor guy – the least you could do is give him a nice massage before he hits the oven.

A nicely massaged bird. He looks relaxed and zenlike, does he not?

Now that both you and the chicken are prepared, place him in the oven and roast uncovered for about 20 minutes per pound.

Don’t forget to baste! Not right away, of course – you want to give the spices a little time to stick to the skin before you go washing them all off. Baste generously when you do – both you and the chicken will appreciate it. But don’t baste during the last 10 minutes – you want the skin to have time to crisp up before you take it out.

Once the juices run clear and the leg moves easily in the socket, your bird is done! Remove from the oven and let the poor thing rest for a few minutes before carving. He’s been through a trying ordeal.

Mmmmm....dinner. This is Mr. Gorilla's plate. I don't eat that much. Yes I do. Shut up.

As I said earlier, I served it with creamy potatoes and peas. And how did I get my potatoes so creamy without loading them up with fat, you may ask? I’ll tell you – I used petite red potatoes, which tend to be creamier anyway. I quartered them, then boiled the heck out of them.

Then I drained them, put them back into the still-hot pot, added 1 tablespoon of butter (yes, only 1!), and (here’s the secret) 1/4 cup reduced fat sour cream! Yes! And salt. If you stir it all up with a wooden spoon, the result tastes just like the version I make with an entire stick of butter, but much kinder to the arteries.

Okay, I hope you enjoyed my first post! Again, I promise to get better at the photography. Be patient! See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

