just me

Oven BBQ Shrimp with Barley and Kale

In Breads / Grains, Seafood, Vegetables on January 20, 2010 at 7:03 pm

Easiest dinner ever!

Every once in a while, mood and/or circumstance calls for an easy, no-fuss meal. Even for me. I do enjoy slaving over a hot stove as much as the next person, but some days, I just don’t have the time or inclination. Especially since the hot weather is returning to us here in South Florida. I miss the cold! Here it is – the easiest dinner ever (that you can still claim to have made).

Mmmm...sweet, sticky, savory shrimp.

For the Shrimp:

So easy! Marinate your peeled, deveined shrimp in your favorite BBQ sauce for about an hour. Then pour into an ungreased casserole dish and bake uncovered at 350 until shrimp are no longer translucent. I used medium shrimp, and it took about 15 minutes. Stir them a couple of times, and you’re good! And baking does beautiful things to BBQ sauce.

So utterly simple, deceptively delicious!

For the Barley:

Boil 2 cups lightly salted water, add 1 cup barley. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer about 12 minutes or until all the water is absorbed. When finished, remove from heat and let stand for 5 minutes. Add 1 tablespoon butter and stir. The starch in the barley will do beautiful things with the butter and it will turn all creamy.

You'll like this even if you don't like kale.

For the Kale:

Saute 1/2 cup chopped onion and 2 cloves minced garlic in olive oil. When onion is translucent, add 1 tablespoon coarse mustard, 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar, and 2 cups chicken broth. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium, and add 4 cups rinsed and torn kale. Cover and cook 5 minutes, or until kale is wilted. Then uncover and cook for 15 minutes, or until kale is tender and liquid is reduced by half. That’s it!

See? Easy as pie. Mmmmm…pie. And I apologize for the short post, but I’m running on all cylinders today doing something yummy that I can’t tell you about for another month or so. Argh! I know. Secret. But it’s yummy and worth the wait, I promise.

Also, a heads up – there will be no post tomorrow, my dears. ‘Tis my birthday, and I very much need a day off. Since I can’t take a day off of work, I’m darn sure going to take a day off cooking. I refuse to cook my own birthday dinner and cake. Refuse.

Okay, dolls. See you Friday!

  1. Angela, Love your blog. I plan to try all of your recipies and will pass the info along to everybody. Didn’t know you were so into cooking. Love, Granny

  2. Happy Birthday to you! Recipe looks great — not too hot on Kale, but I’ll try it. Photos are wonderful!

    • Thanks! Try the kale – if you’ve only ever had it plain, of course you don’t like this. With this recipe it gets tender like spinach, only heartier. I’ll be posting an awesome veggie dish on Friday – keep an eye out.

Leave a Reply

