just me

Braised Chicken and Chickpeas

In Chicken, Soups/Stews on January 26, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Understand that the blackened bits are actually paprika. Now wipe the drool.

Oh my, was this a good one! And let me count the ways….

1. I love braised anything. It’s a no-fail way to make even the crappiest cut of meat come out all tender and delicious. But when you braise chicken thighs, which are generally tender to begin with, it just melts in your mouth. Not even – it melts on it’s way to your mouth. Use a spoon.

2. I don’t use paprika nearly enough. I like it, but I never think of it. It wastes away sadly at the back of my spice cabinet. This recipe actually calls for smoked paprika, but I don’t know what that is. I mean, I can guess – I’m not an idiot, but I don’t know where to get it. At any rate, I used regular paprika, and it was great. It gave a nice little bite to the broth, especially when combined with healthy amounts of black pepper.

3. And speaking of the broth, oh, that broth!!!!! Take my advice – use a little extra chicken broth and maybe even extra canned tomatoes (just remember to season accordingly) and chickpeas, because you want leftover broth! If you make the amount in the recipe, there is no way you’ll have leftovers. Trust me. Even if you have to walk all the way back into the kitchen to get it.

Why do you want leftover broth? Because methinks it will make a stunning soup base! Yeah! It just comes out so beautifully balanced, that you could throw anything in there and call it a success. It could potentially salvage a “cleaning out the fridge” soup in a heartbeat.

So, I came across this recipe on The Nourish Network, and I had to try it. I’m so very glad I did, but I made a couple of very small alterations:

1. I added about 4 petite red potatoes with the chickpeas, because I only had one can of chickpeas and I thought the dish would need more body. They came out perfectly, and absorbed that awesome broth.

2. I didn’t have sherry vinegar, so I used plain old sherry. Worked! Delish.

Here it is, folks, reposted from The Nourish Network:

Braised Chicken and Chickpeas

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 pounds chicken thighs and legs
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoon smoked paprika
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup onion, thinly sliced
1/4 cup sherry vinegar
1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes (I recommend Muir Glen)
1 cup chicken stock
2 14-ounce cans chickpeas, drained

Directions:

The ghosts of chickens past!

Place the flour in a Ziploc bag. Sprinkle chicken with salt, pepper and paprika and drop half in the flour. Seal the bag and shake until well coated. Remove, shake off any excess and transfer to a plate. Repeat with remaining chicken.

Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add chicken to pan and brown well on all sides, in batches if necessary not to crowd, about 6 minutes total per batch. Remove from pan and set aside.

Add remaining 1/2 cup onion to Dutch oven and sauté 4-5 minutes or until tender and slightly browned. Pour in vinegar, scraping pan to loosen

OMG, look at those onions! I love onions like this...

browned bits on the bottom, and cook 1 minute or until liquid evaporates.

Add tomatoes and chicken stock to pan. Stir in chickpeas and bring to a boil. Place chicken on top of chickpeas and sprinkle with an additional pinch of salt and paprika. Cover, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer for 40 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and chickpeas are tender.

Serves 8

So that’s it, folks! It’s a pretty simple dinner to cook – because you’re braising, you don’t want to keep opening the pot and letting out heat. That means you have a note from the culinary gods excusing you from standing over the stove all night. Go watch tv. Play with the kids. Wash the dog. Take a nap (but set an alarm!). I love meals like this!

  1. Glad you enjoyed it! I love the idea of using the extra broth as a soup base . . . I’ll have to give it a try. Thanks!

    • Absolutely – picture the broth with some chicken, maybe some greens of some sort, perhaps some ditalini or orzo, and even some scrambled egg. Like a super-charged pastina! Nomz…

Leave a Reply

