just me

Feta Toast!

In Breads / Grains, Snacks on January 30, 2010 at 3:01 pm
feta toast

Sweet, savory Saturday snacks! How's that for alliteration?

Why hello there, dear readers! Surprised to hear from me on a Saturday? I’ll bet you are! This is my first Saturday post, and it’s going to become habit. Let me tell you why. See, Mr. Gorilla and I usually don’t eat dinner on Saturday nights because we go out with our friends. The last thing I need is a full, bloated belly to contend with when I’m getting dressed for a night out. Besides, if you drink on an empty stomach, you’re very likely to keep the bar tab under a hundred dollars. Last Saturday at the Blue Martini, however, caused me to revise my opinion of drinking on an empty stomach.

I still don’t want to eat a full meal before I go out, but I’ve decided to make a nice hor’ de ‘ouvres platter for us to munch on in the early evening hours. Today’s special? Feta toast! I had some bread and cheese to use up, so this is what I made. It was great! But you kinda have to serve it immediately. It gets cold very quickly. But it’s just the thing when you have the munchies – quick, easy, sweet, and savory. Hop to it!

Feta Toast

Ingredients:

8 slices thin-sliced bread – I used Pepperidge Farm Very Thin

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tablespoons honey

4 ounces feta cheese

black pepper and rosemary to taste

Directions:

Why does this oil make me so happy? You'll see!

This is so easy, you’ll amaze yourself!

Preheat oven to 425.

Lay the bread slices out on a baking sheet.

Whisk together the oil, honey, pepper, and rosemary. Resist temptation to drink it.

Brush each slice of bread with your beautiful oil mixture – be generous! Use it all up! Try to get all the way to the edges, but it’s okay if you don’t. I won’t smack you.

Crumble the feta cheese and distribute evenly among the bread slices. Again, be generous! Try not to let it clump up  – keep it evenly spread.

Toast the bread in the oven for about 5 minutes, then switch on the broiler for 2-3 minutes, or until everything is satisfactorily golden. If you use the Very Thin bread, keep in mind that it does toast quickly – keep an eye on that instead of the cheese.

Remove from oven, halve diagonally (a pizza cutter works great here). Drizzle with additional honey if you like!

Serve immediately. Try to actually leave the kitchen without finishing it all yourself. It’s nice to share, you know.

Okay then, chilluns! Happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

