just me

Saturday Snack – Granola Bars

In Breads / Grains, Snacks, sweets on February 6, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Mmmm...wholesome homemade goodness.

Granola Bars are my favorite snacks. I love them because not only are they delicious, but they are individually wrapped, which prevents me from eating the whole box as soon as I get home from the store. Granola cereal is also a favorite, albeit one that I cannot have in my house. At 500 calories per 1/2 cup serving (who in the world eats a half-cup of cereal?), I can easily add thousands of calories to my day, all the while feeling like I’m putting something healthy in my body. It’s quite insidious.

So, I’ve been on the lookout for a good granola bar recipe – no easy feat, I assure you. Some are too chewy, some are too crunchy, some crumble like cereal, some never come together and end up like trail mix. And then there’s the ones that call for teeny amounts of 20 exotic ingredients, and make your dozen granola bars cost you $40. And you’re left with almost-full bags of stuff you’ll never use except to make granola bars taking up space in the pantry.

This recipe has come to my rescue! I made it today in my quest to fend off tonight’s ensuing drunkenness. You see, it is Super Bowl weekend, and the game will be played not 30 miles from here. All of South Florida is getting in on the party (because anything is an excuse to party down here), from Key West all the way up to West Palm Beach. The take-home point here is that there will be horrendous parking and lethal booze anywhere we decide to go tonight. My granola bars shall protect me, at least from the booze.

I found them on Kelsey’s Kitchen, and what attracted me was the ingredients list – I already have all of that stuff! No trip to the store! Yay! I must say, I just squeaked by on the oatmeal, honey, and vanilla. But there was just enough, and boy am I glad!

You can find the recipe at the above link, but here’s a couple of things I did, or realize I should have done:

– I used 1/2 cup chocolate chips AND 1/2 cup coconut. Because why shouldn’t we pack tons of fat and calories into a “healthy” snack?

– I used a cookie sheet instead of a baking pan – I think my edges came out crisper than they would have. To me, this is a good thing – kind of like the brownie principle. The centers are soft and chewy, the edges are hard and crunchy. Me likes variety.

– When you’re pressing them into the pan, grease your hands first. The mixture is very sticky, and will drive you absolutely batty if you attempt this without non-stick hands.

– Here is something I did NOT do, that I wish you would – when cutting the bars, don’t size them by how much you would like to eat of them right at that moment. Remember that they are very high in calories, and cut them closer to cookie size. I beg of you. I cut them to crunchy-granola-bar-size, and ate two, and now I’m bloated.

– Last but not least, eat at least one before they cool. A warm, fresh from the oven granola bar is something not to be missed. Especially by the person who made them.

Hey, ya know what? As a complete and total afterthought, I’ll bet these would be good as a breakfast cereal! Yeah! Crumbled into a bowl, topped with warm milk…mmmmm. I wonder if they’ll cure a hangover…

  1. Love the blog, Kitchenella! Reminds me of the quote from the Dali Lama: Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon! What the heck – go for it!

Leave a Reply

