just me

Valentine’s Dream Cake

In sweets on February 15, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Omigod it's got red! Oh, it's so pretty!

First off, I want to apologize for not posting on Saturday. My downstairs neighbors were grilling on their balcony, and my house filled up with smoke. Yeah, I know. I had to leave, it was that bad. But I am back in action, folks, and boy do I have something good for you today!

It’s my Valentine’s Dream Cake. Yes, I realize Valentine’s Day was yesterday, but I couldn’t cut the cake until then or it would have ruined everything. And I can’t post without a picture. See how that works? But honestly, if you love somebody, everyday should be Valentine’s Day. Am I right? Of course. So make this cake for your loved one today. Or maybe tomorrow, I mean, this is kind of short notice. But make it soon, because it’s delicious! And healthy, too! <snort> (If you believe that, I have a bridge to sell ya)

Valentine’s Dream Cake

Ingredients:

Red Velvet Cake Batter – (use this recipe, or just use a mix. The mix is easier.)

White Cake Batter – (use this recipe, or again, just use a mix.)

1 cup Nutella

Directions:

Make your batter however you like. I used a mix because I had three cakes to make in one day, and also because I knew that way I would have the same amount of each batter.

Grease and flour your pans (I used two 9×13 pans), then divide the white batter evenly between them.

Now divide the red batter between the two pans, on top of the white. Using a butter knife or rubber spatula, swirl them together, occasionally lifting the bottom batter to the top.

*If you want more of a marbley effect, instead of layering the batter, drop it by ladle-fuls (alternating colors), until you have all the batter divided evenly, then swirl.

*Red Velvet cake is denser than white cake, so keep that in mind when you’re swirling. I probably should have swirled more, but I didn’t want the two to combine and make pink. Be careful of that, too.

Now just pop your cakes in the oven, and cook until toothpick comes out clean!

I just stacked my two sheet cakes, trimmed the edges, and divided it into thirds. Voila! Three cakes.

However many cakes you decide to make from this, spread the Nutella between the layers (keep it about 1/8 inch away from the edges so it doesn’t smear onto the outside of the cake) , and stick it in the fridge to firm up a bit while you make the icing.

Cream Cheese Icing

Ingredients:

3  8-ounce packages of cream cheese (softened)

1 1/2 sticks butter (softened)

3 cups confectioners sugar

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, and beat on medium speed until all lumps are gone and icing looks glossy and somewhat firm.

Wait until the cake is COMPLETELY COOL! I know, it’s very hard. Tell ya what – snack on the pieces you trimmed off of it while you wait. You could use them to make cake balls later, or you could eat them for lunch. Your choice.

Once the cake is COMPLETELY COOL, spread the icing with a butter knife, doing the sides first. If some crumbs get in there like they did on mine, it just gives it a lovely speckled appearance. Don’t stress. Or brush the cake off better next time.

Using a butter knife instead of a rubber spatula gives you more control – this particular icing is a bit stiff, and the flexible spreader tends to let it glom up in spots.

Do the top last, and use every last bit of icing. Make it thick. I’ll tell you why in a second.

Once the cake is frosted, stick it in the fridge for a couple of hours. The cake is sealed with this thick icing, so I promise it won’t dry out. What will happen is that the icing will firm up very nicely (while retaining its creamy texture), and create a nice shell over the cake. If you put a lot of it on there like I told you a second ago, it will give just the right cake-icing ratio in every slice.

Guess what – this cake also travels well! I know how nerve-wracking it is to transport a cake. All you have to do here is pop it in the freezer for an hour or so, the cover with plastic wrap (which won’t stick because the icing will be frozen), and transport ’til your heart’s content!

Yeah, you’re welcome.

Here, have a piece of cake.

  1. […] am soooooooo gonna make this cake for Valentine’s Day!  Although I think I’ll replace the cake mixes with the sugar-free mixes […]

  2. Wow! This is a beautiful cake and so perfect for Valentine’s Day! Thank you so much for cooking mezze with me. Your food looks amazing and the apple butter in the hummus was just genius!

    • Aaaww…thank you sweetie! The mezze was my pleasure, trust me! I’ve already used the leftover hummus in another recipe, and the pita didn’t last two days! I had frozen them, thinking I would keep them for a future meal, but every time I went into the freezer there seemed to be fewer and fewer pita! One day they completely disappeared! I suspect the Mister, but he’s not fessing up.

Leave a Reply

