just me

Bubble and Squeak Soup

In Soups/Stews on March 1, 2010 at 5:01 pm

So hearty, so perfect for a cold night

Who doesn’t love a good soup? Especially when it’s cold and rainy and miserable outside. And I’m not talkin’ consomme, either. A nice, rich, weighty soup really hits the spot, but when you top it with aged cheddar and bacon – well, come on.

I came across this blog called Recession Recipes – great idea, if you ask me. I mean, every time I grocery shop, I need oxygen when it’s time to pay. You can’t argue with savings, am I right? Anyway, there was this recipe for Bubble and Squeak Soup – what? I know. I had never heard of it either, but the name was catchy, so I investigated further. Turns out it’s a pretty easy soup to make, and it has BACON! So yeah, I’m sold. Not to mention that Mr. Gorilla is a huge Anglophile, and this recipe is supposedly English.

The recipe as written is pretty straightforward – no weird ingredients or anything, but ended up altering it anyway because I made a new friend. Well, not really a new friend, but a new purchase. See, have you ever seen these things at the grocery store (see photo)?

Yeah, these things.

Sure you have. Leasa Soup Mix. I tend to look right past them, because I try not to buy pre-packaged produce. But the recipe called for 1/2 pound of turnips, and my stupid grocery store didn’t have turnips in any form whatsoever. Because they’re stupid. So I took a look, and sure enough, this package contains a turnip! So I bought it. Turns out, it contains lots of other stuff as well! Check it out –

Just look at all this stuff!

Three ENORMOUS carrots, one onion, one turnip, and one parsnip. And a few sprigs of fresh parsley and dill. Pretty handy, no? So, thrilled with my new discovery, I ended up changing the recipe to fit my ingredients. Yes, again. Yes, I do occasionally buy ingredients to suit the recipe instead of the other way around, but I was excited, okay? Jeez.

I also had a lot more than one pound of potatoes that HAD to be used, so, combined with the Soup Pack stuff, I had way too much solid stuff for just the one quart of  stock. I did have a quart of some onion-y chicken stock I had made awhile back, but I just made up the difference with plain old water. To compensate for the diminished flavor, I added WAY more bacon than was necessary. But I love bacon.

You find the original recipe here, but here’s how I did mine.

Bubble and Squeak Soup

(apologetically adapted from Recession Recipes)

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

6 bacon slices, chopped, plus extra whole, cooked slices for garnish, if desired

2 pounds potatoes, peeled and diced

1 onion, chopped

3 large carrots, peeled and chopped

1 turnip, peeled and chopped

1 parsnip, peeled and chopped

1/2 pound brussels sprouts, chopped

1 quart chicken stock

4 ounces aged cheddar cheese, grated

about 2 tablespoons each chopped fresh parsley and dill

salt, pepper

Directions:

Heat the oil in a large soup pot over medium heat. Add the onion and cook for about 5 minutes, or until softened.

Add the bacon and cook for another 5 minutes.

Add the carrots, parsnip, turnip, and potatoes, cook for about 10 minutes, stirring and tossing frequently. NOT toss as in across the room – it will be hot. Just make sure everything gets coated with oil and touches the bottom of the pan for a couple of minutes.

Pour in the stock, and add water until the root veggies are covered by about an inch. Bring to a gentle boil, and cook for about 15 minutes, stirring frequently, until everything is nice and almost tender. Yes, just almost.

Reduce heat to medium-low, add the brussels sprouts, parsley, and dill, and simmer for about 5 minutes.

Remove from heat, and use an immersion blender to puree the soup. You can actually leave it as chunky as you’d like – I left a few chunks in there, and it was quite nice.

Top with grated cheese – I did almost like a French Onion Soup effect on mine – and a slice or two of bacon, if you so desire.

Serve and enjoy. Warning – this soup holds heat like a neutron star, so blow on it first! Trust me – it won’t get cold anytime soon!

  1. Thanks for the article!!

  2. I love it. I bet the bacon tasted great too because I think 99% of things in life improve with bacon. Those little veggie packs are really cute, where did you get it from?

    And aside from this soup coming from a very English cookbook, I think the only people who like turnips more than the English are Russians. Must be something about a cold dark life!

    • You are absolutely right – everything is better with bacon.
      I got the soup pack in the produce section of my grocery store – it was hidden away on a high shelf where nobody ever looks. Ironic, because the veggies themselves looked fresher than the regular produce in the store. Oh, how I wish for a local CSA!

  3. Çok leziz görünüyorlar… (translated from Turkish: appear to be very delicious. )

Leave a Reply

