just me

Ricotta Pancakes with Honey Butter

In Breads / Grains, sweets on March 11, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Like having dessert for breakfast for dinner!

We LOVE breakfast for dinner in this house. And we also love dessert for breakfast! Yes, our gluttony knows no bounds. So I made pancakes for dinner. Ricotta pancakes. With honey butter. To justify it as a legitimate meal and not just a dessert, I made bacon, too. You know, protein. It’s a balanced meal! Look – bacon=protein, pancakes=carbs, and honey butter=dairy. See? I can justify anything.

Going ricotta was a step for me – I had never had them before, but I love anything that involves cheese, so I figured they couldn’t be too bad. And they weren’t! They were exquisitely delicious, in fact!

I found a recipe posted on some famous chef’s website, but I won’t say who because the recipe was stupid. It basically said to get some instant pancake mix and add ricotta. Duh, like I couldn’t think of that. I was very disappointed in her (oops! did i give it away?). So I made up my own recipe. I did use Bisquick, but if a famous chef can cheat further, I don’t think it’s a big deal.

Ricotta Pancakes

Ingredients:

2 cups Bisquick

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups ricotta

1 cup heavy cream

1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

Combine all ingredients, and mix with a wooden spoon until blended. Batter should be lumpy.

Preheat griddle – if it sizzles when you put a drop of batter on it, it’s ready.

Pour batter by 1/4 cup-full onto hot griddle, but do not crowd.

When bubbles appear on the surface and edges look solid, flip.

Cook another minute or two, or until both sides are golden.

Serve immediately with honey butter and syrup.

Speaking of honey butter, it’s food of the gods! Here’s how you do it – Let a stick of butter sit at room temperature until it’s soft. Like, squeezably soft. Then put it in a bowl, add about 1/4 cup of honey, and mix until combined. It actually takes more mixing than you would think. You can leave it in the bowl or transfer it to a pretty container, then stick it in the fridge to solidify until you’re ready to use it. Simple!

The pancakes are rich, fluffy, and exquisite. The honey butter is sweet ambrosia. Yes, this is dinner! And because it is dinner, you get to have dessert later too…

Leave a Reply

