just me

Tomato Parmesan Biscuits

In Breads / Grains, Uncategorized on May 25, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Great savory biscuits to accompany any meal.

I made this recipe while reviewing Biscuit Bliss by James Villas. I originally picked it because I had all the ingredients already, but god, were they fantastic! They complimented dinner just perfectly, and they even made a great cold-pizza-like breakfast the next morning.

I have to say, since reviewing this book, I’ve really gotten into the whole daily bread product thing. Mr. Gorilla was always a bread fiend, and I was as a kid but grew out of it. Funny – when my cousin Cory and I were little, we would rob every family function of dinner rolls before the meal even started. I remember one time at a family reunion or something, we each must have eaten half a dozen of these sandwich-sized rolls from DiFonzo’s Bakery. My mom caught us and was quite miffed. But they are so good!

Anyway, memory lane aside, these biscuits are awesome. The only way I altered the original recipe was to run fresh tomatoes through the food processor instead of using tomato juice. Came out chunkier and awesomer.

Tomato-Parmesan Biscuits

(slightly adapted from Biscuit Bliss by James Villas)

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 cu parmesan cheese

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

3 Roma tomatoes, run through food processor

1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425.

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. I like to use a whisk for this. I don’t know why.

Add the cheese and oregano, and stir well.

Add the tomato and butter, and stir until soft and slightly sticky.

Using your very own floured hands, lift the dough and sort of flop it back and forth from hand to hand a bit. Knead it if you want, but I haven’t really found that to be necessary. Just kind of manhandle it a little.

Plunk it down on a sheet of parchment and pat down to a rectangle about 1/2 inch thick.

Using a very sharp knife, cut into squares, but do not separate.

Transfer the whole shebang, paper and all, to a cookie sheet, and bake for about 15 minutes, or until slightly golden and cooked through.

Allow to cool for five minutes or so, then pull apart at cuts and gobble. Breathe. Gobble some more.

Leave a Reply

