just me

Coconut Lime Shrimp

In Seafood on June 14, 2010 at 11:16 am
coconut lime shrimp

Better than a restaurant!

So, okay. I was grocery shopping at a store that I normally don’t go to, and they had whole coconuts for $1.50. Really? I seem to remember them being like, five bucks. I guess there’s a coconut surplus. Anyway, I love coconut, so I bought one without any clear idea as to what I was going to do with it.

I got it home, where it sat on the kitchen counter for a few days until I caved and decided to break it. The breaking actually went pretty uneventfully, and I was able to separate it from the shell without a problem, which never happens. I even peeled it alright. Then I grabbed a chunk to chew on, threw the rest in a bag, and stuck it in the fridge where it remained for about a week. I simply forgot it was there.

One day, I opened the fridge and wondered what the heck was taking up so much room – aha! – the coconut. What in the world am I going to do with it? So, believe it or not, I got out the peeler and actually shaved my own coconut. Really. Mr. Gorrilla’s dad was here, and he couldn’t believe it. Neither could I. I mean, really. But I figured I would be more likely to use it up that way, and I was right. It wasn’t two days before I was grinding it up to make coconut shrimp because I love it and it’s easy and delicious. Right? Right. Try it – you can use pre-shredded coconut though.

Coconut Shrimp

Ingredients:

1/2 pound shrimp, peeled/deveined

juice of 1 lime

salt and pepper to taste

1 cup flour

1 egg, beaten

2 cups GROUND coconut (run the shredded coconut through the food processor)

1 tablespoon bread crumbs

1/4 cup canola oil

1/2 red bell pepper sliced thin

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 can coconut milk

dash fish sauce

2 tablespoons brown sugar

red curry powder to taste

2 tablespoons chopped basil, several whole basil leaves

Directions:

Combine shrimp, lime juice, salt, and pepper. Set aside for about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a large pan, saute the pepper and onion for about 5 minutes, keeping everything moving.

Add the coconut milk, fish sauce, brown sugar, and curry powder, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 10 minutes.

In a separate pan, (yeah, this is a two-frying-pan meal), heat oil for shallow frying over medium-high heat.

Drain the shrimp. Combine the coconut and breadcrumbs in a bowl (the breadcrumbs help the coconut stick better).

Dredge each shrimp in flour, then dip in egg, then roll in coconut. Drop the shrimp in the oil and fry until golden, about 3 minutes. Work individually, and don’t crowd the pan. I said don’t! Drain the shrimp on paper towels until they are all done.

By this point, your sauce should be nice and thick. Stir in the basil. Now you can taste it, but try not to melt where you stand. We don’t need a puddle of cook all over the kitchen floor.

Spoon the sauce over rice, and place the shrimp decoratively over the sauce. Now, isn’t that lovely?

Leave a Reply

